A Letter to the people that did not believe in me

Standard

Dear People that did not believe in me

Here I am, going on 33 years old.  I have to tell you that you were wrong. Every thing you said about me was wrong. I did so much more that you said I could not do because of my Cerebral Palsy.

Here let me remind you about what you said to me. you did not believe in me when I was little. As a little girl who was not up to par with what you thought was normal.  You said I would not be able to do more than just sit and do nothing. You said that I would not be able to walk or talk. Oh my were you wrong I found my feet and there was now stopping me from walking, swimming, marching band, driving and so much more. For the talking I was late but again I found my voice and you can’t stop me from talking about things.

Some of you I did not know until later on in my life. Some of them would be teachers, doctors, family and others. You are the people who said that I would not be able to get out of special Ed. Some of you also said I would not graduate from High school and go to College. Well I did that and I Got out of College with onres.  I can even remember that my own family said that college was out of my leeg. Sorry for the upset but even though you were not able to do it I was.

Oh yes let me tell you that those of you that thought I was going to be working at a dead-end job are so wrong. You are the people who said I was never going to be able to get a job that I would like. Some of you even said that I was not going to be able to get a job at all. I Can say that I have a job that I have worked very hard at and I’m coming up on 12 years. Oh and did I tell you it was at a bank.

So as I sit here and think of all the things that you said I was not going to be able to do. I would like to tell you that I have come a long way. I have had some harder times in the past 12 years of my life. Yet, I am doing everything I would like to do, Let me tell you some of them:

Blog, even with my spelling problem that some of you will never let me forget

podcasting, Something that I love to do and something that most of you would have never said I would be able to do

Holding down a Job, again me and a job think hard and long on this one

driving,  Yes I do drive every day

reading blogs,  what did I just say reading. Oh yes I read and write but I love to read others blogs

living on my own, oh my mary is living on her own. Yes I am and I love it.

being with a great guy for 9 years, If you try to think that I am using him to help me with my disability you are wrong. we have been living together for a bit now.

standing up for me, for those of you who have no clue because you said I was not going to be able to do anything I have to say I have done something bigger then what you or myself would have ever thought I would have to do. I was in a trial last year and this person took advantage of me and I called him out on it. So don’t think I can’t stand up for me.

I am all over the net and love it. This would be a part of mary reading? Yes like I said I get around.

Having faith, Don’t think that just because I am out of the family home I don’t have faith still. Because I do have faith something that my family has given me and I still believe in my faith.

All right, here is the point in this note that you all are going to say I told you so. Life has not been as good as I would like My health has taken a turn but I still work full-time. I spend most of the time that I am not at work in appointments for my health. Yet I am the one that makes them and gets myself to them. I don’t have mom or dad to help me with the everyday things like I  did when I was little. Both of them were very much in to having me be as independent as I could. I still see mom and dad as much as I can. But sometimes it’s hard and other times I don’t have it in me to drive 3 hours to go and see them.

But all in all I am doing all the things that you said I was not going to do. So next time you think about telling a girl that is having a hard day that she will not be able to do anything that you can do. Stop and think again what you are going to say.

So thank you for not believing in me when I was at a time of need and looking for some kind of help

Mary

Ps this is number 20 on my wish list. I can put this thought out of my mind now. I don’t have room for your thoughts anymore.

2 responses »

  1. Mary,

    Wow! Loved this post! I only met you a few years ago. I am very proud of everything you’ve accomplished. I’ve been able to see you reach for things that that most people never dare to dream of. You inspire people around the world and I’m thankful to have you as a friend.

    Cliff

    • Cliff

      You know even though we have only met a few years ago. I feel like you have been a person that I have been able to look up to. Not just for Podcasting things or #PABL things but for new goals and I have been able to see you change your life right in front of me. I have been able to take some of your thoughts and your wisdom and start to use it in my own life. I have found that when I am having a bad day I can always come to my recorder and talk. I think you have been the one to show me not to push it down.
      Now I have to say that most recordings don’t get out but those of them that do I am really being myself. I learnd that from you. Thanks

Leave a comment