Advent 2009

Standard


Advent is a time that we are trying to get ready for the coming of the Lord. Most people will do things that they do ever year. I’m not saying that it’s bad or anything like that. Yet, this year for me to get ready for the Lord is that I’m going to “try” very hard to get myself to church. Or, as I might say, get my but into church. I might not be able to go to 6pm Sunday night mass. But, I’m going to try and get there. I don’t know how I’m going to do it. but I am going to try very hard. It might even be a phone call from one of my friends. I know that I am going to have a few Mondays off at work. So I’m not going to be able to say I have to work tomorrow.

This will be the first year that I am going to “try” not to get into the whole Christmas media thing. For me it will be a time that will be a start over for me. If the Lord is going to come to us them I can “try” and start over and show myself that the church is an important thing. The things that my family had tried to instill in me will come out. I know that this is going to be a hard thing for me. but come on Mary you can give up one hour for God. (something mom said to me when I was little)
I am also going to say that Christmas is just going to be a hard time because I will not be with my family. I know my family will be in my hart but, I will not see them. I am also going to try and start my own things that I can do. My own traditions. I don’t know what they are going to be. So, if anyone has any Ideas that would be good? I don’t even put a tree up because it was something that my family did. but I’m out on my own now. so I have to try and find my own things to do. I have all the ordaments that my mom had.
My mom was so cool with she always had two of everything. She was a very forword thinker. When her girls grow up she wanted us to both have things from the past. So in my box I have like three generations of christmas.
I will still have to give my Sisters little boy something. I might get him three things. So it will be like three things that was given to the Lord. We are doing something different in the Boy friends family. One gift for each person. So it’s going to be 6 things. I also feel like I need to get my boyfriend something more. Yet, that is really it. I will have to call people. I’m also going to try and get cards out this year and some will have letters.
If you are reading this and you would like me to send you a card you will need to get your address to me. You can do it in a few ways. Privet Plurk me, Facebook me. DM me on twitter. or if you have my e-mail send it that way. Oh, yes SQPN connect is another place that I am. I am also on GSPN.TV forms I think I have my e-mail address there. And if you are a friend form any one of these places and we have friends together you can ask them. Like the mayor of sqpn. (in side joke). OMG if you have my phone number call.
Yet, really I would like to just keep my eye on the Lord. And what Advent is really for.
2 responses »

  1. Great post! I love the idea of Your "going to try very hard to get myself to church!" I've had the same thoughts cause this past month I've been sick with the flu and could not get to mass at all. Tomorrow, the First Sunday of Advent will be a new beginning and hopefully I can get to weekday Mass too. Our Lady said "What are you going to give Jesus for His birthday?" We can give Him our love and our faith; we can celebrate His Birth by giving other's gifts, especially those who have no one; we could burn a candle in prayer for our loved ones, who we miss. I'm 2000 miles away from my children and grandchildren and miss them very much especially at this time of the year. So you are not alone in these feelings, Mary. May your Advent be blessed with many miracles+Deacon John

  2. Deacon john Thank you so much. I was also reminded that it's the begining of the year for us catholices. so happy new year to you. It's a good feeling that we can start the beginning of the year this way.

Leave a Reply

